Ghost
Sync subscribers to Ghost to give them access to your online content.
Subsail can sync subscribers to your Ghost site, giving them access to your online content.
Every new subscriber will be added to Ghost, and you can also backfill previous subscribers.
Set up the sync
First, create a new integration in Ghost. Go to Settings -> Integrations and click on Add custom integration.
Give the integration a name ("Subsail" is perfect) and click Add. Next you'll see the integration's details, which you need to paste into Subsail.
In Subsail, go to Export -> Ghost.
Then, enter the following details:
- Ghost API URL: The API URL
- Ghost API Key: The Admin API key
Click on "Save" to save the settings.
Now you have added the integration, you will see the configuration for the sync.
The first option lets you determine which of your Subsail subscribers are synced to Ghost based on the products they have purchased.
You must select a Subsail product in the "Subscribers to sync" field if you want to sync subscribers to Ghost.
If you do not select a product, no subscribers will be synced to Ghost, and Subsail may revoke access to existing "comped" Ghost members.
You can select which Ghost tiers and newsletters to give subscribers access to. You can also choose which label members are assigned in Ghost (useful for finding your Subsail subscribers in Ghost).
How the sync works
Subsail uses your sync configuration to determine which subscribers to sync to Ghost.
If a member for the subscriber email address does not exist in Ghost, Subsail will create a new member.
If you select to add subscribers to a Ghost tier, Subsail will create a "comped" member on that tier in Ghost. If you choose to give them free access, only the member record is created.
If a matching member already exists in Ghost and is already on any paid Stripe-powered membership, Subsail will not change anything in Ghost.
The chosen label is always added to the member in Ghost, unless the member is on a paid Stripe-powered membership. The label shows which members have been managed by Subsail.
Ongoing sync
When you have Ghost sync enabled toggled on, Subsail will automatically sync new subscribers to Ghost.
Only subscribers who have purchased a product that matches your sync configuration will be sent or updated in Ghost.
When a subscriber's status changes, Subsail will automatically update the subscriber in Ghost. If a subscription ends, Subsail will automatically remove the subscriber from your selected Ghost tier.
If a subscriber has multiple subscriptions, Subsail will check against all of them and give access if one of them matches your sync configuration.
Manual sync
If you want to manually sync subscribers to Ghost, you can click on the "Sync to Ghost" button on subscription and subscriber pages in Subsail.
Using the "Sync to Ghost" button will sync the subscriber regardless of the products you select in the configuration. It will "force-sync" subscribers to Ghost.
Like with the ongoing sync, if a subscriber has multiple subscriptions, Subsail will check against all of them and give access if one of them matches your sync configuration.
Backfill subscribers
After you create the integration, you may want to sync existing subscribers to Ghost.
Go to Export -> Ghost and click on Sync existing subscribers.
Subsail will find all subscribers who match your sync configuration and list a few so you can double check.
Click Sync to start the backfill. The sync happens in the background. You will see member updates in Ghost.